The Chinese Classics: Vol. 1. The Life and Teachings of Confucius (Analects, Great Learning, Doctrine of the Mean)

On this disk:

About this title:

Legge provides lengthy introduction to Confucius’ life and thought, and to three major works: the Analects, Of the Great Learning, and The Doctrine of the Mean. The numerous indexes at the back of the book have not been reproduced in the HTML version but can be viewed in the facsimile PDF version.

Edition used:

The Chinese Classics: Translated into English with Preliminary Essays and Explanatory Notes by James Legge. Vol. 1. The Life and Teachings of Confucius. Second Edition (London: N. Trübner, 1869).

Copyright Information:

The text is in the public domain.

Fair use statement:

This material is provided on this disk to further the educational goals of Liberty Fund, Inc. Unless otherwise stated in the Copyright Information section above, this material may be used freely for educational and academic purposes. It may not be used in any way for profit.

Other formats available at the OLL (Internet connection required):

HTML1.7 MBThis version has been converted from the original text. Every effort has been taken to translate the unique features of the printed book into the HTML medium.
HTML by Chapter(varies)View this title one chapter at a time.
Facsimile PDF15.85 MB

This is a facsimile or image-based PDF made from scans of the original book.